Advisory Committees

Advisory committees play an important role in providing guidance and direction to the administration, faculty and staff at the Tennessee College of Applied Technology Elizabethton.

The General Advisory Committee provides an overall direction and recommendation to the administration, faculty and staff for the effective operation of the college. Committee members review and make recommendations on needed changes to vision and mission statements.

Program Advisory Committees make recommendations on needed changes to curriculum to better meet the needs of employers in the region. Suggestions from committee members allow faculty to stay current in the latest equipment, methods, trends and technologies in their respective occupational areas. Committee members also provide information on employment opportunities for TCAT Elizabethton graduates.

General Advisory Committee

Director: Dean Blevins, 423-543-0070

Advisory Committee Members:

Robin Allen, Human Resources Manager, Snap-On Tom Anderson, President/CEO, Carter County Tomorrow Jill Salvers, Field Representative, U.S. Senator Bob Corker Deacon Bowers, State Veterans Employment Representative (Ret.) Jerome Kitchens, City Manager, City of Elizabethton Patricia Holtsclaw, President, Mountain States Foundation Leon Humphrey, Carter County Mayor Jane Jones, Chief of Staff, ETSU Bo Shadden, CTE Director, Sullivan County Schools Parker Smith, Eastman Chemical Company Lana Moore, Field Representative, U.S. Senator Lamar Alexander Brian Noland, President, East Tennessee State University Kathy Pierce, Executive Director, Alliance for Business & Training Robert Reedy, Reedy & Sykes Architects Patricia Roark, Program Director, TCAT Technology Foundation Bob Robinson, Public Relations, TCAT Elizabethton Brian Culbert, CTE Director, Elizabethton City Schools Dwayne Taylor, CEO, Sycamore Shoals Hospital

Mickey Taylor, CTE Director, Carter County Schools John Abe Teague, Field Representative, Congressman Phil Roe Kevin Ward, Director, Carter County Schools State Rep. John B. Holsclaw, Jr.

Program Advisory Committees

Administrative Office Technology

Instructor: Alesia Miller, 423-342-3986

Advisory Committee Members:

Dave Wortman, Edward D. Jones & Company Wanda Jones, TCAT Online Instructor Creola Miller, Carter County School System Kim Miller, Appalachian Christian Village Vicki Moody, State of Franklin Healthcare Associates Pashia Hogan, Northeast State Community College

Automotive Technology

Instructor: Jacky Livingston, 423-342-3972

Advisory Committee Members:

Lester Julian, Auto-Truck Technician (retired) Cliff Jones, Industry Worker, (retired) Bill Bright, Diesel Instructor (retired) Mike Matheson, Commercial Sales Grady Johnson, Automotive Instructor (retired) Randy Woods, Automotive Shop Owner

Computer Information Systems and Computer Information Technology

Instructor: Nate Hall, 423-342-3983

Advisory Committee Members:

Matthew Birchfield, Telecommunications, Inc. Alex Collins, Saratoga Trent Remme, Saratoga Archie Fitzgerald, Business Systems Technology

Diesel Powered Equipment Technology

Instructor: John Lee, 423-342-3973

Advisory Committee Members:

Steve Estes, Erwin Motors Todd Love, Erwin Motors Pax Gilliam, Snap-on Tools (retired) Carl Stewart, Grindstaff Automotive Bill Bright, Diesel Instructor (retired)

Dietary Manager

Program Director: Patricia Roark, 423-342-3971

Advisory Committee Members:

Ann Chesser, Life Care of Elizabethton Eric Crawford, RD, Sycamore Shoals Hospital, CDM Program Instructor Phyllis Ensor, CDM, CDM Program Instructor Bessie Hambrick, CDM, Four Oaks Health Care Stephanie Roark, RD, Appalachian Christian Village Bob Robinson, TCAT Elizabethton Debbie Street, Pine Ridge Care and Rehabilitation John Walker, CDM, Northest Correctional Complex Barbara Williams, CDM, (retired)

Electricity/Electronics

Instructor: Philip Peters, 423-342-3987

Advisory Committee Members:

Maelea Galyon, Massey Electric Sandy Buchanan, Tennessee Electric David Fletcher, Carter County Schools Chris Vance, Fleenor Security Sandy Richard, Bell Helicopter David Cole, Epic Technology Keith Wilson, Self-Employed Electrician Mike White, Snap-on

Heating, Ventilation, Air Conditioning, and Refrigeration

Instructor: Doug Street, 423-342-3991

Advisory Committee Members:

Mike Bacon, Carrier Enterprise Southeast Steve Tipton, Climate Controllers, Inc. Ken Newman, Coastal Supply Co. Carl Sparrow, Sparrow Gas Works

Millwright Skills/Industrial Maintenance

Instructor: Brian Irick, 423-342-3989

Advisory Committee Members:

Mike White, Snap-on Les Betzel, Mapes Piano and Strings Lori Ann Jones, Eastman Chemical Co. Charles Snodgrass, TCAT Elizabethton

Pipefitting and Plumbing

Instructor: Tim Pierce, 423-342-3982

Advisory Committee Members:

Ken Dugger, Jacobs Construction (retired) Noah Ensor, East Tennessee State University Jeff Charlton, JTH Engineering, LLC Sandy Buchanan, TEC Industrial Maintenance and Construction Larry Morrison, Plumbing & Steamfitters Local 43 John F. Brown, Tennessee State Pipe Trades Wanda Jones, Technical Education (retired)

Practical Nursing

Director: Kacie Hauldren, 423-342-2979

Advisory Committee Members:

Angie White, Veterans Administration Cheryl McCall, Walters State Community College Lenoir Fletcher, Elizabethton City Schools Scott Flemmer, NHC Christy McKinney, Carter County Schools Patricia Moody, MSHA Sheri McCray, Welmont Health System Sherri Quillen, HMG Nyda Bays, Lakebridge

Welding

Instructor: Dale Hicks, 423-342-3974

Advisory Committee Members:

Gary Killebrew, Airgas Adam Vest, Tennessee Electric Evan Shell, Jacobs Field Services Alex Richards, Steel Fab Harold Morrell, Technical Education (retired) Mike Phillips, Employment Solutions

(Rev. 3-19-15)